Sunday, 14 July 2019

Summer Round-up + Inspiration

 

We're now properly into summer and it's feeling like it! I've done round-up and inspiration posts for the other seasons, so now it's time for the summer one. :)

Note: If you're in the Southern Hemisphere you might like last year's Winter Round-up + Inspiration post: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/12/winter-round-up-inspiration.html

Summer is my favourite season so I'm glad we've had some nice, hotter weather recently, especially during the end of June and in early July. As I wrote in the winter post, I struggle a bit when it's colder. So summer is a lot easier for me to feel inspired by! (But there are good things about winter too). The weather is (hopefully) good, or if not it's at least not cold! It feels like there's more possibilities in summer.

The season officially starts with Litha/the Summer Solstice around 21st June and I tend to start to feel "lighter" around then. Although the days begin getting slightly shorter from then on! Then Lammas is on 1st August (some celebrate it on 31st July). It's my favourite sabbat apart from Samhain, I think because it was the first one I celebrated in 2010, and because it's during the height of summer. I'm planning to do a post with ideas for celebrating later this month. So for now I hope you enjoy this post. :)

First of all here's a round-up of previous summer themed posts on TSL:

Favourite Things About Summer  https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2013/07/favourite-things-about-summer.html

Summer Drinks: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2013/08/summer-drinks.html

Hove Park in Summer: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2013/09/hove-park-in-summer.html

Beach Pics (2014): https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2014/08/beach-pics.html

Beach Photos (2015): https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2015/08/beach-photos.html

Beach Pics (2017): https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/06/beach-pics.html

More Summer Drinks + Summer Tag!: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/08/more-summer-drinks-summer-tag.html

End of Summer + Full Moon (Esbat) Biscuits: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/09/end-of-summer-full-moon-esbat-biscuits.html

Getting Ready for Summer: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/06/getting-ready-for-summer_3.html

Summer Photos: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/07/summer-photos.html

Late Summer: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/08/late-summer.html


Litha/Summer Solstice posts (I know we've had Litha but thought I'd include them):

2014: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2014/06/litha.html

2015: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2015/06/litha-2015.html

2016: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2016/07/litha-2016.html

Litha/Midsummer Celebration Ideas (also a baking post): https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/06/baking-no-yeast-dinner-rolls-and.html

2017: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/06/litha-2017.html

Celebrating Litha + Summer: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/06/celebrating-litha-summer.html

Litha Inspiration: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/06/litha-2018.html

2019: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2019/06/litha-2019.html


Previous Lammas posts on the blog:

2014: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2014/08/lammas.html

2015: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2015/08/lammas-2015.html

2016: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2016/08/lammas-2016.html

Lammas Celebration Ideas: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/07/lammas-celebration-ideas.html

Lammas 2017: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2017/08/lammas-2017.html

Celebrating Lammas: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/07/celebrating-lammas.html

Lammas 2018: https://livingseasonal.blogspot.com/2018/08/lammas-2018.html


Now here's some posts with summer inspiration:

Post from Richly Rooted on 40 things to experience every summer: https://richlyrooted.com/2016/07/things-to-love-about-summer.html

Affirmations for summer: http://highpriestessing.com/summer-affirmations

Summer self care challenge from Blessing Manifesting: https://www.blessingmanifesting.com/2017/06/summer-self-care-challenge.html/

And a self care challenge for July: https://www.blessingmanifesting.com/2018/07/july-self-care-challenge.html/

Magical summer self care ideas from Jessica Dimas: https://jessicadimas.com/6-magical-summer-self-care-ideas/ 

I shared this post about the summer months the Celebrating Lammas post, but thought I'd include it again because it's about June to August and last year I only came across it when it was almost August!: http://themotherhouseofthegoddess.com/summer-in-the-goddess-year-june-july-august/

Thins to do on a summer's evening: https://www.itslaurenvictoria.co.uk/11-things-to-do-on-summers-evening/

Post about slow summer living:  http://www.thesustainableedit.com/slow-summer-days/


Hope that gave you some inspiration for summer! (And if you're not a summer person, it's not actually that long till autumn now, lol). Have a good rest of autumn (or winter depending where you live)! :)


Photo: Worthing Beach. Moonsparkle 2019.

2 comments:

  1. Aw such a lovely post! I adore the warmer weather but have been unable to enjoy it so far as have been cooped up inside with glandular fever. It's been lovely to see the sun out though and some lovely blue skies! Such a beautiful beach photo :D xx

    elizabeth ♡ ”Ice Cream” whispers Clara

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Elizabeth! :) I'm glad you like the post and the beach photo. Sorry to hear you've been unwell. Hope you feel better soon and can enjoy the rest of the summer. <3 Yeah, it lifts my spirits to have lovely weather and blue skies. It has been nice in Sussex, although it's dull today, lol.

      Zania
      xx

      Delete